The Registrar / Director
Of the Indian Universities
(Central, State, Deemed Universities /
Institutions of National importance

Subject : Recognition of Degrees awarded by Open Universities.


There are a number of Open Universities in the Country offering various degrees/diploma through the mode of non-formal education. The Open Universities have been established in the country by an Act of Parliament or State Legislature in accordance with the provisions contained in Section 2(f) of University Grants Commission Act, 1956. These Universities are therefore, empowered to award degrees in terms of Section 22(1) of the UGC Act, 1956.

A circular was earlier issued vide UGC letter N.F 1-8/92(CPP) dated February, 1992 mentioning that the Certificate, Diplomas and Degrees awarded by Indira Gandhi National Open University are to be treated equivalent to the corresponding awards of the Universities in the country.

Attention is further invited to UGC circular No. F1-25/93(CPP-II) dated 26th July, 1993 for recognition of degrees and diplomas as well as transfer of credit for courses successfully completed by students between the two types of universities so that the mobility of students from Open University stream to traditional Universities is ensured without any difficulty.

The UGC has specified the nomenclature of degrees under Section 22(3) of the UGC Act, 1956 to ensure mandatory requireme-nts viz. minimum essential academic inputs required for awarding such degrees. The details of Gazette Notification regarding specification of degrees are given in UGC web site www.ugc.ac.in.

May, I therefore request you to treat the Degrees/Diplomas/Certificates awarded by the Open Universities in conformity with the UGC notification on Specification of Degrees as equivalent to the corresponding awards of the traditional Universities in the country.

Copy to :

1. The Secretary, Govt. of India, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Dept. of Secondary & Higher Education, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi - 110001

2. The Secretary, All Indian Council for Technical Education, I.G. Sports Complex, Indraprasta Estate, New Delhi - 110002.

3. The Secretary, Association of Indian Universities(AIU), 16, Comrade Inderjit Gupta Marg (Kotla), New Delhi - 110002 Marg, New-Delhi - 110002.

4. The Secretary, National Council for Teacher Education, I.G Stadium, I.P Estate New Delhi 110002

5. The Director, Directorate of Distance Education Council, IGNOU Campus, Maidan Garhi, New-Delhi 110068.

6. The Vice-Chancellor, Indira Gandhi National Open University Maidan Garhi, New Delhi - 110068.

7. The Vice-Chancellor, Dr. B.R Ambedkar Open University, Road No. 46, Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad-500033(AP).

8. The Vice-Chancellor, Nalanda Open University, West Gandhi Maidan, Patna - 800001 (Bihar)

9. The Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Babasahab Ambedkar Open University, Shahibaug, Ahmedabad - 380003(Gujarat).

10. The Vice-Chancellor, Karnataka State Open University, Manasagangotri, Mysore-570006(Karnataka).

11. The Vice-Chancellor, Yaswant Rao Chavan Maharastra Open University, Nashik - 422222(Maharastra)

12. The Vice-Chancellor, Kota Open University (Vardaman Mahaveer Open University), Kota- 324010(Raj.)

13. The Vice-Chancellor, Netaji Subash Open University, Kolkatta-700020 (West Bengal).

14. The Vice-Chancellor, Madyapradesh Bhoj(Open) University, Bhopal - 462016(M.P).

15. The Vice-Chancellor, U.P. Rajarshi Tandon Open University, 17, Maharshi Daynaand Marg, (Thornhill Road), Allahabad - 211001.